Open vision bar

Gifted Education


Gifted Education Information


The Daviess County Public Schools offers gifted education services for identified students across all grade levels.  P3 primary students are screened at the end of the 3rd grade year and selected as high potential learners.  Identified students are served in grades 4 - 12 in one or more of the following areas:

     • general intellectual aptitude
     • specific academic aptitude
     • creative or divergent thinking
     • psychosocial or leadership skills
     • visual or performing arts

Services are generally delivered in a collaborative manner following criteria established in the district’s Gifted Education Model (GEM).  In addition, many activities are available outside the classroom to allow further enhancement opportunities for students.  Such activities include participation in school academic teams, performance as part of a performing arts group or participation in a planned program of summer study through programs offered through the Kentucky Department of Education or the Kentucky post-secondary system. 

For additional information about the Gifted Education program in your child’s school, please contact either the school’s Gifted & Talented contact person or principal. Email address formula is: 




Audubon Elementary School

Tina Jennings

Sarah Velotta

Burns Elementary School

Wendy Cooper

Heather Newman

Country Heights Elementary School        

April Benningfield        

Stacy Harper

Deer Park Elementary School

Marci Riley

Robin Nalley

East View Elementary School

Beth Hutchinson

Sonya Simpson

Highland Elementary School

Kendal Quinton

Kristy Brackin

Meadow Lands Elementary School

Amy Bell

Kevin Lowe

Sorgho Elementary School

Amanda Davis

Laura Cecil

Southern Oaks Elementary School Jessica Graham Jennifer Humphrey

Tamarack Elementary School

Kristy Bean

Carrie Munsey

West Louisville Elementary School

Sans Washington

Nathan Satterly

Whitesville Elementary School

Jessica Doughty

Tricia Murphy

Burns Middle School

Diane Beumel

Dane Ferguson

College View Middle School

Teresa Smith

Jeff Wethington

Daviess County Middle School

Christie Rideout

Kelly Skeens

Apollo High School

Cristy Dame

Rick Lasley

Daviess County High School

Neil Hayden

Matt Mason

District Contacts


Angela Gunter
Jana Beth Francis



The Daviess County Public Schools district prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, religion, marital or parental status, political affiliations or beliefs, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, veteran status, disability, or limitations related to pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions in its employment practices, educational programs and activities, and provides equal access to its facilities to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups.