Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Technology

Profile image for Anthony Sparks
Anthony Sparks
Director of Instructional Technology/CIO/Arts Coordinator

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.”

 

This statement was coined by Arthur C. Clarke, an English writer in the 20th century. With advances in technology arriving so fast now, we are witnessing new “magic” take place every few days! In particular, the education field has been the true beneficiary of recent technological advancements, leading to a significant impact in the teaching and learning process.

DCPS students and teachers take advantage of numerous technology tools each day. Collectively, these tools help students gain quick access to vital information for learning and provide additional support to actively engage learners.

Tech Facts
  • The district maintains well over 15,000 electronic devices each year, including approximately 13,000 computers and tablets.
  • All classrooms in DCPS are fully equipped with sound amplification devices, projectors, doc cameras and computers.
  • Many classrooms have access to the latest Smart Board/Active Board technology.
  • Assistive technology devices are available in a variety of categories to address functional capabilities of students with disabilities.
  • All Daviess County HS and Apollo HS students are participants in our thirteenth year of the "One-to-One” eLearning Program, allowing a powerful connection to 21st century learning.

eLearning News

  • Students in the “Class of 2021” (current freshmen) will receive the newest eLearning Computer Model—the ASUS Chromebook on or about  August 12, 2017.
  • All HS students can choose to participate in the "BYOD" program.
  • Current junior and senior district-provided laptops will be running Windows 7 Professional operating software.
  • Both AHS and DCHS campuses are now operating with a new wireless upgrade, allowing for increased speed and security.
  • District buildings have the capability to allow for presenters and visitors to have guest internet access.
  • In addition to the DCPS Wi-Fi 2 network, the DCPS Open Network is available in all buildings for staff members (Personally Owned Devices) and guests.
  • High school teachers will continue the option to use advanced software to facilitate eLearning in their classrooms, called “DyKnow.”
  • Study Island software is available now to all high school students and teachers and all middle school students and teachers.

 

Tech Support

The technology support team in DCPS is strong with customer service as our #1 priority. Below are the names and faces that help teach our students 21st century technology skills and keep our technology operational at all times.

   
Technology Administrative Team
 
Anthony Sparks
Director of Instructional Technology/CIO
anthony.sparks@daviess.kyschools.us
Steve Burton
Computer Operations Manager
steve.burton@daviess.kyschools.us
   
Technology Instructional Staff
 
Annette Sapp
Technology Integration Specialist annette.sapp@daviess.kyschools.us
Aaron Yeiser
Technology Integration Specialist aaron.yeiser@daviess.kyschools.us
Ken Roberts
Technology Specialist
ken.roberts@daviess.kyschools.us
   
District Technicians
 
Charlie Austin
District Technician
charlie.austin@daviess.kyschools.us
Terry Clark
District Technician
terry.clark@daviess.kyschools.us
Jason Cunningham
District Technician
jason.cunningham@daviess.kyschools.us
Billy Johnson
District Technician
william.johnson@daviess.kyschools.us
Russell Johnson
District Technician
russell.johnson@daviess.kyschools.us
Brian Payne
District Technician
brian.payne@daviess.kyschools.us
Jeremy Payne
District Technician
jeremy.payne@daviess.kyschools.us
   

School-Based Technicians

Tim Hicks
Burns Middle School Technician
tim.hicks@daviess.kyschools.us
Tony Mattingly
Apollo High School Technician
tony.mattingly@daviess.kyschools.us
Tammy Morgan
Daviess County Middle School Technician
tammy.morgan@daviess.kyschools.us
Chris Saalwaechter
Daviess County High School Technician
chris.saalwaechter@daviess.kyschools.us
Bill Salee
College View Middle School Technician
bill.salee@daviess.kyschools.us
Monica Scott
Apollo High School Technician
monica.scott@daviess.kyschools.us
Rodney Stephens
Daviess County High School Technician
rodney.stephens@daviess.kyschools.us
   

Jessica Roark
Software Specialist
jessica.roark@daviess.kyschools.us

 

Video Player

Click Here To Watch Us On Youtube and While You Are There Click Subscribe
DCPS Youtube Channel
For School and District News


United Way of the Ohio Valley
United We Fight.
United We Win.

 

What does "Kids First" mean
to students in DCPS?

Daviess County Public Schools Kids First Students Respond to Four Questions
 

DCPS 2017 Teachers of the Year

Daviess County Public Schools 2017 Teachers of the Year

DCPS Office Professional of the Year
DCPS Office Professional of the Year


DCPS Customer Service Employee of the Year
Daviess County Public Schools 2017 Customer Service Employee of the Year

 

Early College Academy
Early College Academy
 

What Inspires Teachers
To Continue Teaching

Click Here To Watch What Inspires Teachers to Teach
 

Elementary Students Visit CollegesClcik Here To Watch DCPS Elementary Students Visit Local Colleges

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Daviess County Public Schools district prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, religion, marital or parental status, political affiliations or beliefs, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, veteran status or disability in its educational programs and activities or employment practices.